Welcome to the Child Labor Division of the Alabama Department of Labor. The Alabama
Child Labor Law was enacted to protect working minors. The law prohibits youths
from working in occupations or places of employment, which could be harmful to their
health or moral well being. By regulating the hours during which youths are allowed
to work, the law ensures minors sufficient time to take advantage of their educational
Part-time or summer jobs can provide teens with great opportunities for learning
important life skills and acquiring hands-on experience, while at the same
time earning some spending money. Federal and State rules regarding young workers
strike a balance between ensuring sufficient time for educational opportunities
and allowing appropriate work experiences.
The resources on this web site will help everyone understand what hours and jobs
teen can work, and help prevent workplace injuries. Please feel free to contact
the Child Labor Office any time you need help.
The Alabama Child Labor Law
Employers who wish to employ person under 18 years of age must obtain the appropriate
Child Labor Certificate(s) for each location where persons under 18 years of age
are employed. A Class I Child Labor Certificate is required for the employment of
14 and 15 year old minors. A Class II Child Labor Certificate is required for the
employment of 16 and 17 year old minors.
An Eligibility to Work form is required for each 14 or 15 year old minor employed.
These forms can be obtained by the minor from their school. The Eligibility to Work
form must be kept in the employee's file.
Federal Child Labor Law Information
Each employer must keep on premises an Employee Information Form, Proof of Age,
and Time Records showing the number of hours worked each day, starting and ending
times, and break times for each employee 18 years of age and younger. Acceptable
Proof of Age: A Copy of a birth certificate, driver's license, or identification
card issued by a federal, state, or local government agency provided the ID card
includes the employee's name and date of birth. Employers who chose not to use the
Employee Information Form must keep a separate file for each employee 18 and younger
which includes the following information: The employee's name, address, telephone
number, date of birth, date of hire, proof of age, school of attendence, and time records.